This guide serves as a resource for Radiology. You will find guidance on Radiology focused journals, library resources, publishing resources, and more.
Contact a medical librarian for assistance with library resources.
For residents that are performing their research project. Information on QI projects is also included.
Questions about your research project should be directed to the Radiology Residency Research Navigator: Doug Van Pelt.
EndNote is a citation management system that can help you organize references, create bibliographies and much more! As a MaineHealth employee, you have free access to the software. See the important information below for different download instructions for your work/home computer:
Using a MaineHealth computer: To download the software, navigate to the software center from the start menu on your computer (from the Windows button in the lower left corner of your desktop, type "software center"). At the software center page, you will see an EndNote 21 icon that you can click on and download the software.
Using a personal computer or laptop: To download EndNote to your laptop or personal desktop, click here.
New to EndNote? No problem! Visit the Getting Started with EndNote page to view brief videos or recorded webinars.
If you need additional assistance, the library staff can offer individual or group training sessions. Need help after hours? Contact Clarivate Technical Support (Monday - Friday, 24 hours) at 855-258-5858.
Follow the links below to see a list of examples via PubMed. All of the journals included in the results are accessible through the library's subscriptions. If you need any assistance with accessing full text contact the library.
Case-Control Studies A study that compares two groups of people: those with the disease or condition under study (cases) and a very similar group of people who do not have the disease or condition (controls).
Case Reports A case report is a detailed report of the diagnosis, treatment, response to treatment, and follow-up after treatment of an individual patient.
Case Series A case series is group of case reports involving patients who were given similar treatment.
Cross-sectional Studies Cross-sectional studies are observational studies that analyze data from a population at a single point in time. They are often used to measure the prevalence of health outcomes, understand determinants of health, and describe features of a population.
Literature Reviews A literature review can be an informative, critical, and useful synthesis of a particular topic. It can identify what is known (and unknown) in the subject area, identify areas of controversy or debate, and help formulate questions that need further research.
Prospective Cohort Studies A prospective cohort study is an investigation that includes two or more groups of similar patients who undergo different treatments and who are then assessed for a specific outcome.
Randomized Trials A study design that randomly assigns participants into an experimental group or a control group. As the study is conducted, the only expected difference between the control and experimental groups in a randomized controlled trial (RCT) is the outcome variable being studied.
Retrospective Analyses Retrospective studies look back in time to collect patient data meeting certain inclusion and exclusion criteria. Since the imaging studies were performed before the study was conceived, the exact reasons for obtaining the imaging study may not be available and constitute a source of bias
JANE: Journal/Author Name Estimator
Follow the link about and enter the title and/or abstract of the paper in the box, and click on 'Find journals', 'Find authors' or 'Find Articles'. JANE will then compare your document to millions of documents in PubMed to find the best matching journals, authors or articles.
EndNote's journal matching feature suggests the top candidates for your manuscript. Just choose the publications you want, and start the process for submitting your work to the most credible, high-quality journals that match your topic and references. This resource can be launched from EndNote online, EndNote 21 desktop software, or even from your manuscript from the Cite While You Write toolbar in Microsoft Word.
Elsevier® Journal Finder helps you find Elsevier journals that could be best suited for publishing your scientific article. Simply insert your title and abstract and select the appropriate field-of-research for the best results. Please also consult the journal’s Aims and Scope for further guidance. Ultimately, the Editor will decide on how well your article matches the journal.
Use Springer's journal matching technology to find relevant Springer and BMC journals based on your manuscript details. You can search over 2,500 journals and compare the best place for publication.
Templates
Poster & PowerPoint Templates for MaineHealth *Must be on the network to access*
Finding Images
Creative Commons - Search for free content in the public domain and under Creative Commons licenses.
Unsplash - A source for freely usable images.
Pexels - Free stock photos and videos, shared by creators.
Smart Sevier Medical Art - 3,000+ medical images available for use in presentations and publications.
ACR Appropriateness Criteria Evidence-based guidelines for making the most appropriate imaging or treatment decision for a specific clinical condition.
Clinical Key Contains medical textbooks, journals, drug monographs, guidelines, patient education materials, and multimedia resources.
PubMed Premier biomedical database. Contains more than 33 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Links to library holdings with additional full text options from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).
Websites
Project Management of Quality Improvement in Radiology | AJR (ajronline.org) This article outlines a structured approach for applying project management principles to quality improvement in radiology. We highlight the framework we use for managing improvement projects in our department and review basic project management principles.
The Essentials of Quality Improvement in Radiology | Applied Radiology (appliedradiology.org) The goal of this article is to provide a practical guide for radiologists leading or engaging in QI activities. We first present three models of improvement. Thereafter, we discuss the application of select tools commonly used to conduct QI within the radiology setting.
Examples
Radiology
J of the Amer College of Radiology
Academic Radiology
Clinical Radiology
Current Problems in Diagnostic Radiology
Diagnostic and Interventional Radiology
Journal of Radiology Case Reports
Pediatric Radiology
Radiology Case Reports
Radiology of Infectious Disease
